Pacman makes his first appearance in arcades in 1979 in Japan under the title Puck Man, derived from Japanese PakuPaku which denotes the action of opening and closing the mouth.

The game, created by Tohru Iwanati for the Japanese company Namco, made his Release 22 May 1980 in Japan and has a legendary success soon with 100,000 units sold that year.

In 1981, MS Pacman made his exit to attract players, the majority Instead of players being male. In 1982, Super PacMan and More PacMan that are emerging. These two extensions are marked by the introduction of the random factor, and replacement of the pellets with fruit. Then Pac and Pal, Junior Professor PacMan and PacMan make their appearance in 1983. Professor PacMan will be a flop because only 400 terminals will be produced. The flop continues the following year with the launch of Pacland, inspired the TV series that offers nothing interesting to do to players. This is the end of the era PacMan after 4 years that have marked the history of gaming.

In 1988, PacMan is slowly coming back on the market with the release of PacMania available on Megadrive and NES. Namco is trying to innovate out this 3D game including giving the possibility to PacMan jump, but the game has a lot of bugs, including unable to drop some pills or ghosts appear to be more than 4. Back to 2D in 1993 with the release of PacAttack Gameboy, a fun mix of Tetris and PacMan. The

game is to stack the ghost block for our heroes eat. New flop in 1994, PacMan 2, which is the result of PacMan, with a very limited gameplay.

1995 will be the year of release of Pac-in-time, on a platform game Gameboy as there are dozens. We must collect a certain enough pellets to move up the levels.

The most prominent PacMan World, released in 2001 on the Playstation, which all the gameplay of Mario in 3D platform game with 36 levels to the key. MS Pac Man Maze Madness and PacMan Fever are also appeared the same year on the Playstation, the game in MPMM laby Fever in 3D and multiplayer combat, where there are other Namco game characters. 2001 was a great year of success yellow for Camembert.

In 2002, Pac Man World 2 is released on Gamecube and Playstation 2, very good 3D platform game yet, but the principle remains unchanged, which gives a repetitive aspect to the universe that surrounds our heroes, right or Namco should innovate! It will be followed World 3 in 2006.

In 2005, Pac-Pix and Pac'n'roll out on Nintendo DS. In pix, it must draw it down PacMan ghosts and roll has several 3D maze levels.

Finally, PacMan Party, was released in 2010 on Wii, and is composed of 50 mini-arcade games, to celebrate 30 years of Pacman.

Pacman fait sa première apparition dans les salles d’arcades, en 1979 au Japon sous le titre Puck Man, dérivé du japonais pakupaku qui dénote l’action d’ouvrir et refermer la bouche.

Le jeu, crée par Tohru Iwanati pour l’entreprise japonaise Namco, fait sa sortie le 22 mai 1980 au Japon et connaît aussitôt un légendaire succès avec 100 000 unités vendues cette même année.

En 1981, MS Pacman fait sa sortie pour attirer les joueuses, la majorité des joueurs étant plutôt masculins. En 1982, c’est PacMan Plus et Super PacMan qui font leur apparition. Ces deux extensions sont marquées par l’introduction du facteur hasard, et le remplacement des pastilles par des fruits. Ensuite Pac et Pal, Junior PacMan et Professor PacMan font leur apparition en 1983. Professor PacMan fera un flop puisque seules 400 bornes seront produites. Le flop se poursuit l’année suivante avec le lancement de PacLand, inspiré de la série TV qui n’offre rien d’intéressant à faire aux joueurs. C’est la fin de l’ère PacMan après 4 années qui ont déjà marquées l’histoire du jeu vidéo.

En 1988, PacMan revient doucement sur le marché avec la sortie de PacMania, disponible sur Megadrive et NES. Namco tente d’innover en sortant ce jeu en 3D et notamment en donnant la possibilité à PacMan de sauter, mais le jeu présente pas mal de bugs, avec notamment l’impossibilité de dropper certaines pilules ou encore des fantômes qui paraissent être plus que 4. Retour à la 2D en 1993, avec la sortie de PacAttack sur Gameboy, un amusant mélange de Tétris et PacMan. Le

jeu consiste à empiler les fantômes en bloc pour que notre héros les mange. Nouveau bide en 1994, de PacMan 2, qui est la suite de PacMan, avec un gameplay très limité.

1995 sera l’année de sortie de Pac-in-time, un jeu de plateforme sur Gameboy comme il en existe des dizaines. Il faut récupérer un nombre suffisant de pastilles pour gravir les niveaux.

On retiendra surtout PacMan World, sorti en 2001 sur Playstation, qui a tout du gameplay d’un Mario, en jeu de plateforme 3D avec 36 niveaux à la clé. MS PacMan Maze Madness et PacMan Fever font également leur apparition la même année sur Playstation, le MPMM en jeu de laby 3D et Fever en jeu multijoueur de combat, où l’on retrouve d’autres personnages des jeux Namco. 2001 fût une grande année de succès pour le camembert jaune.

En 2002, PacMan World 2 sort sur Gamecube et Playstation 2, très bon jeu de plateforme 3D encore, mais le principe ne change pas, ce qui donne un aspect répétitif à l’univers qui entoure notre héros, à l’heure ou Namco devrait innover ! Il sera suivi de World 3 en 2006.

En 2005, Pac-Pix et Pac’n’roll sortent sur Nintendo DS. Dans pix, il faut dessiner des PacMan pour avaler les fantômes et roll présente plusieurs niveaux de labyrinthe en 3D.

Enfin, PacMan Party, est sorti en 2010 sur Wii, et est composé de 50 mini-jeux d’arcade, pour fêter les 30 ans de Pacman.